top of page

"Hi Lexie, I have a question."

Disclaimer: These are my opinions ONLY. Each answer is based on my perspective and does not speak for my classmates, faculty, or additional program staff.





My Vocabulary List

  • PathAssist: Short informal term used for Pathologists' Assistant


I decided to post about the "five most asked" questions I have received on my blog from prospective applicants, intrigued readers, and anyone who is curious about the WVU PathAssist program, Morgantown, or even myself.


Let's jump right in.


Question 1: How do you connect with others in your class that only consists of 14-16 students?


My Answer: Honestly, you may or may not. There are so many different personalities and you may not "click" with everyone, especially in a smaller group. However, THAT IS ABSOLUTELY OK. For me, there are a few individuals that I have spent time with outside or at school and have a closer connection with than others due to similiar interests. Overall, I talk with many of my classmates on a daily basis.


I will say that having a reliable outside support system and family helps tremendously also. I have around three good friends that I have met since being in Morgantown. We do a lot together on the weekends. So don't just limit yourself to your classmates, get out to meet other people if you feel that you may not be connecting with others in your class. This goes for any program and not just WVU.


I have a very strong, outgoing personality. So overall, I'm very selective in who I spend my time with. I'm also a little older and have a different perspective on things, which may not necessarily be everyone's cup of tea as expected. I've always been a lone wolf, so it does not bother me if I am not always close or connected with someone. As for me, I have to remember I'm HERE for school. Everything else falls into place after that, which allows me to be completely content. Any external negativity that comes my way gets completely blocked (people, places, or things), and I only allow positive aspects around my grounding space while in school. My focus stays on what I'm trying to accomplish.


My takeaway is BE YOURSELF. I encourage you to definitely get to know your classmates. You may have similar interests with some and you may not. However, you are together consistently for a year, so getting out of your shell is always a plus whether that is in school or out of school. Sometimes this is harder for others, but don't get discouraged if you are not bonding with every person. That can be expected in a smaller program. Having class events is also a great way to connect outside of school and destress from school work.



Question 2: What's your favorite aspect of the program?


My Answer: My instructors and specimens.


My instructors and faculty have really put together a superb program. They help us in each and every way they can. I know this may not seem like a big deal to others, but having faculty that actually care how their students succeed is IMPORTANT. It is not just about passing, but also about succeeding in this field with the appropriate knowledge.


As far as specimens go, I am a kinesthetic learner. I can learn material all day, but to actually understand what I'm doing...I need to physically see it, touch it, and handle it. In general, just being around specimens is fun! You really get to put together everything that you've learned in one masterpiece within your mind.


Question 3: Do you have to study every day for exams?


My Answer: I think this question is funny for me because most people think I study all day. Nope, that is not the case at all.


I'm pretty sure I'm among the few students in my class who do the most outside of school. In one of my blogs, I mentioned that I have a set schedule for studying during the week that I follow. Once I get home from school, I shower, eat dinner, and study until 9:30PM. After that, I am done. I don't care what else needs to be completed for the week, I am done for that night. On weekends, I rarely study rigorously. I may review material, but will not learn any material/or study because I review new material the day I learn it. Also during my weekends, my boyfriend and I travel, enjoy hiking, try new food, drive up to the mountains, making products for my business, workout, yoga, go dancing, visit Ohio or Maryland, and even do staycations. Most people don't even think I'm in school, because we do so much on the weekends. We even have a Youtube channel capturing these moments throughout my program.


Now, I'm not saying procrastinate. I know of a few individuals who do this and I don't recommend it AT ALL. It's just not the right habit to start...especially not in graduate school. Take your breaks, rest, and drink plenty of water...but DO NOT get behind because of consistent procrastination.


So... how do I not study that much on the weekends?


I have a good balance between school and my personal life. When I was in undergraduate, I was that hard-core studier. I did not do anything but STUDY. Graduate school requires mental breaks or you will drive yourself insane. However, everyone's study habits are different and you have to find what is right for you. Just because this works for me, does not mean it works for you. I don't have to study everyday, because I stay on top of my school-work way a head time. This allows me to chillax before exams come up.



Question 4: How do you like Morgantown and are there things to do?


My Answer: Morgantown is still growing on me. I'm a southern girl, so I'm not used to mountains and snow. However, I am adjusting. Spring and summer is around the corner and I'm excited for the SUN! The surrounding areas of West Virginia are gorgeous. One of my favorite things to do is jump in the ole truck with my boyfriend and ride along the back roads. The mountains, waterfalls, and nearby parks are all so beautiful. I love that we actually have seasons here. Down south, it's hard to tell the difference between seasons.


Just in six months, I have done so much in Morgantown. Whether it's market days, attending to posted events, riding in the area, or trying out nearby businesses...I'm always trying something new and adventurous!



Question 5: Is the program difficult for you?


My Answer: The program is not difficult, but DENSE. However, this is my opinion and I can't speak for everyone. You learn so much material in one year, so you just have to stay on top of things. That is why establishing a good study routine is important. Procrastination should not even be part of your vocabulary. You should not be taking an exam just to pass. You should be taking an exam to be able to comprehend the information effectively to pass. We still have to take boards, so this information will definitely be back around to stare us directly in the face.


We all knew what we were getting into when we applied for a PathAssist program. Nothing in the program should surprise us because it's graduate school. There is no more hand-holding. The program will be hard, only if you make it hard.


Stay on top of your work, ask questions if needed, and communicate with instructors if you need anything. That's what they're there for. This program REQUIRES communication. If you are lacking in that area, you're in trouble. In the future, you have to be able to communicate with pathologists, surgeons, PathAssists, and even other lab personnel. UNDERSTAND THIS NOW.


I am very comfortable speaking to higher authorities figures. I've been told I am a teacher's pet, which is not how I see it. I have always been this way since undergraduate. Forming professional relationships with instructors now may be beneficial for you later on when it comes to references, career placements, etc. Plus, I know they are there to help me in every way they can.


That's it for now folks!


I have received so many questions, and plan to post them throughout the month for interesting reads. Hope you enjoyed these!


Until next time.

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page